Going above and beyond

Last evening, while sitting at the bar located next to our apartment, I met a tall, clean-cut guy sitting with his wife. After a few moments of conversation, I realized they were both pediatricians from the US. What a coincidence, three pediatricians sitting together in a small bar.

They have been coming to Haiti for a number of years and are adopting a hoard of children (five). They help with medical logistics at a large orphanage that has an adjacent clinic just across the street from where we live.

Near the end of our conversation, I said, “We have been having trouble maintaining a consistent oxygen supply. Do you have any way to help us?”

He thought for a second and then said, “Let me look into it.”

I have to admit, as they left, I thought I would never see them again.

Around 9am this morning, I saw a man with a smiling face walking toward me on the pediatric ward, towering above all the Haitians waiting to be seen. As he approached me, he shouted “We got them”.

As I walked down to his truck I saw four electric oxygen concentrators neatly lined in a single file. These are machines that run for thousands of hours taking oxygen from the air and concentrating it for use. We will no longer need to rely so heavily on oxygen tanks.

He really had come through!

Within hours we put them to use and are now saving lives.

2 Responses to “Going above and beyond”

  1. Mercy/Kique Says:

    May God Bless them and You!

  2. Jennifer Lynn Voight Says:

    That is a beautiful thing…

Leave a Reply

