A pleasant surprise

Last week, I had to return to Boston to tie-up a few loose ends before we start the next 6 months down here in Haiti. I completed a few tasks at work and got my apartment organized.

When flying home, I received an unexpected upgrade to first class. It was a really nice treat. Just after settling-in, the man sitting next to me arrived. He looked familiar but I initially couldn’t place him.

Long story short, we had engine problems and sat on the runway for a long time. During the down time, my next door neighbor and I chatted about kids, global health, sports and politics. After a while, I finally realized who he was…

For the last 12 years, he has been a frequent visitor on my TV. Mostly on Sunday, but a few Monday visits. He is an NFL player.

Despite his celebrity status, he was extremely nice, humble and overwhelmingly dedicated to supporting those less fortunate. Meeting him was a very pleasant surprise.

2 Responses to “A pleasant surprise”

  1. Jennifer Lynn Voight Says:

    You left his name out 😉 That’s pretty awesome 🙂

  2. Francisco Acosta Says:

    That is freaking awesome, i remember when I took a flight to L.A., I sat a few seats away from our current governor. I knew who he was but I figured, I would not bother him. I was alittle shocked to see him on a cheap flight but then he was not the governer then.

Leave a Reply

