A pick-me-up

Lately the hospital has been beating me down. Caring for sick patients in a flawed system is tremendously draining. I can see the light at the end of the tunnel but I need an occasionally pick-me-up.

Today, I got it. I joined a neonatal neurology conference in Port-Au-Prince and rubbed shoulders with 50 prominent pediatricians from Haiti. They were all extremely warm and welcoming.

Near the end of the day, I stepped forward to give a 30 minute presentation about my job with PIH. My talk was less technical than the others and focused on how to improve neonatal systems.

The crowd’s reaction was really nice. I figured I was going to be rather boring, but everyone seemed extremely engaged. On many occasions, the crowd erupted in debate.

Some days I feel like an unimportant cog in the wheel. Today was not one of them.

One Response to “A pick-me-up”

  1. Kim Williams Says:

    Chris,
    I’m someone who cares deeply about what you’re doing as I am not able to do the same myself. I do my part within my own community, working as an instructional aide at the local one room/10-student school house to teach migrant worker children how to speak English, but it seems woefully insignificant at times. I am constantly inspired, impressed and grateful by/for your efforts. You provide motivation and inspiration on top of making a meaningful difference in the lives of young children with few advocates. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!!!

Leave a Reply

