A little oasis

Today I brought my patient I told you about the other day with urinary obstruction to a Catholic children’s hospital in Port-Au-Prince. I emailed the director of the organization and he quickly replied with, “sure, send him to us and we will do our best.”

When I arrived, a sense of calm settled in. Too often, you turn up at a referral hospital and the facilities are in shambles and the staff is disorganized. Not at Saint Damien Children’s in Haiti.

I was greeted by a professional hostess and taken to the immaculate emergency room. I walked by a beautifully manicured central courtyard and clean, organized wards. The place was spotless and inviting.

After just a few moments, I was confident it was the correct decision to transfer this child to Port-Au-Prince for his surgery!

Leave a Reply

