A visitor

I have been fairly isolated in St. Marc. A few expats have been around, but I am secluded in my pediatrics world.

There was a nice surprise this week. A doctor from PIH named Keith was visiting and spent two entire days with me rounding on patients. He is an expert in infectious diseases and gave a lot of helpful input on many of my patients. It is always great to have a second set of eyes and another brain evaluate a sick child.

We also had many long conversations about my work. It is easy to lose perspective when you are caring for patients on a daily basis, but it is nice to be reminded of the bigger picture. My main purpose here is to help improve the medical systems and I need to continue thinking globally.

Leave a Reply

