My Creole is coming along, but I’m still a beginner

A small baby came in over the weekend with fever and lethargy. I began treating him for a bacterial infection in his blood.

Yesterday, during my examination of the child I told the mother she would be discharged on “Mekredi”. The mother smiled and clapped her hands as if to say, “that’s what I wanted to hear!” I knew she was excited to go home, so I was confused why she was happy I wanted to keep the child for a few extra days.

As I was preparing to move on to the next patient, Lisa questioned my wording and immediately I realized what I had done. I meant to say “Vandredi” (Friday), not “Mekredi”  (Wednesday).

Shoot!

I ran over to the mom to stop her from packing. Fortunately, when I told her about my vocabulary error, she laughed and patted me on the shoulder.

One Response to “My Creole is coming along, but I’m still a beginner”

  1. dad Says:

    Bonswa Dude! Sak pase? Tout al byen? Ou se yon dokte. Se bon.
    Api ta. Adye, Dad

Leave a Reply

