Rookie mistake

Paul, a 3 year-old male, came to my indoor clinic with bad sores on his penis. I looked at them for a few moments and was perplexed. What the heck were they?

There was another doctor outside, so I picked up the child, walked out the door and headed toward my colleague. As I approached her, I looked down at Paul and said to myself, “Son-of-a-gun”.

He had obvious scabies all over his body. The clinic had poor lighting and the moment I entered the sun, his infectious rash became readily apparent.

My rookie mistakes were two-fold. First, I did not find better lighting for the clinic. Second, I picked up a small child with an unknown rash and exposed myself to countless tiny mites.

Leave a Reply

