Karma

As I was preparing to film on the streets of Bukavu, a young, corrupt police officer with a large automatic rifle approached me and demanded, “You buy me soda”. Usually I would smile, say “I no have money” and walk away. Today was different. I said, “Sure, what kind would you like”.

No more than 30 minutes later, two men saw my cameraman and me filming in a market. They ran toward us, screaming and waving their hands in a threatening manner. After an exchange of words, the most irate one began hitting my cameraman in the chest.

Out of nowhere, my new police friend swooped in and deescalated the situation. He took both men around the corner and chased them away.

That was a 50 cents well spent!

Leave a Reply

