A bit of irony

Today, as I was buying tickets for a boat trip to Bukavu in an area notorious for petty crime, a white man in front of me pulled out a clear plastic folder. He did not notice that a $100 bill was precariously hanging out.

I said, “Sir, you have money that is visible. You may want to hide it.”

In a slightly annoyed tone, he said, “Don’t worry about it. I will be fine”.

I shrugged my shoulders and smiled.

About an hour later we were boarding the boat together. As small talk, I said, “So what do you do here?”

He proudly replied, “I am the chief security officer for the European Union.”

Leave a Reply

