A flood

Congo is a hard place to live and work. As I described in many of my previous blog posts, daily life can be a bit overwhelming.

When I returned to Goma this morning and visited HEAL Africa hospital, many memories came flooding back and I felt a wave of emotions. At one point, I saw a sick young man being carried to the emergency room and I developed palpitations and a light wave of nausea.

Many people would say “returning brings back old memories”, but others may claim I have a mild case of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder.

I am not sure what it is, but the relaxation and beaches of Saipan seem far away.

Leave a Reply

