It’s been a long time

Today was my first day of work. The days of no medicine, delayed labs or inadequate radiologic equipment are long gone.

I was immersed in care for 800 gram infants requiring medicine to keep their hearts pumping, one year-old kids with breathing tubes and three year-olds with kidney failure (and I have the option of dialysis). I am working very hard, running around writing orders and checking labs, but it is fun to get back into “western-type” medicine.

I am not teaching or evaluating programs, just taking care of sick kids and practicing medicine. Despite my love for improving systems, these next two months are going to be fun relearning things and improving my doctoring skills.

Leave a Reply

