Arigato amigo

After the accident I just wanted to rest. No long conversations about how best to address the refugee crisis, no medical consults and no 2am patient emergencies.

When I finally arrived in Monrovia, I headed directly to a great sushi restaurant. Yes, you heard me correctly. There is a sushi place in one of the poorest nations in the world that can whip up food equal to some that I have had in downtown Tokyo.

As I took my first bite of the beautifully pink and tasty salmon nigiri, I decided to live on the edge and order a margarita. When I took a sip from the salt-rimmed ledge of the glass, I was transported across the Pacific from my Asian metropolis to the beaches of Mexico. It was a perfectly mixed drink.

After a number of trips back and forth across the ocean, I was ready for bed.

Leave a Reply

