Like a rag doll

I decided to return to Monrovia for the weekend. There were no NGO vehicles available so I walked to the taxi stand in Saclapea. I could not find a driver willing to travel all of the way to the capital so I arranged to hop over to the next town of Ganta.

One hour later, I arrived in Ganta’s bustling hub. I was surrounded by potential drivers all begging me to travel with them. I walked away from the crowd and sat down. I needed a breather.

After a few moments, I decided to pay for the entire backseat of a shared cab. I would be able to rest on the journey and would not be forced to sit with three other large people packed into the back. The single front seat was occupied by a man and woman, neither of them petite. They were sitting on each other’s lap.

As we set off, I was a bit nervous. My driver was not erratic but was young and had a penchant for speed. After an hour or so, I settled in the backseat and drifted off to sleep.

Then it happened. I heard the two front passengers scream at the top of their lungs. Our driver swerved sharply to the right, veering off the road. We hit a bump at 60 mph and I flew into the air, striking the ceiling of the car with stunning force. As I fell back to the seat, the car lunged into a deep trench and the sound of crushing metal reverberated in my ears. I flew forward, hitting my head on the back of the front passenger chair while my legs were stopped by the driver’s chair. The car then tipped over on its right side.

As I shook off the cobwebs and climbed up and out of the left backseat door, people came running from the surrounding village. One woman exclaimed, “I can’t believe you survived that!”

The driver and other passengers climbed out one by one. We all stood silently next to each other for a few minutes. We were all bruised but safe.  

I cannot remember being that scared in a very long time.

2 Responses to “Like a rag doll”

  1. Kathleen Says:

    OH my gosh! What a way to wake up. I hope all is as well as can be.

  2. sangita trivedi Says:

    Oh my God!! what are you going through? Is you family calling you back?

Leave a Reply

