A shift in thinking

When I heard about the measles outbreak, my initial thought was….Are there any cases of severe pneumonia, meningitis or encephalitis and when can I get to the region to treat them?

After taking a deep breath and thinking things through, I realized that there are more important questions I need to ask;

Who is getting measles, refugees or Liberians, and where are they? What is the vaccination status of the children in the region? Of the refugees? How can we quickly mobilize a vaccination campaign?

It’s difficult, but I need to be a public health practitioner now, not a clinician.

Leave a Reply

