Decompression is needed

When leaving the DR Congo, I felt like a tremendous wieght was lifted from my shoulders. The constraints of being on call at all hours and the fluctuating emotions caused by the cases would cease for a brief period.

Immediately after leaving, I traveled with a group of friends to Mombasa. While on vaction, I have been able to relax, but I don’t think I have been the best company.

It is hard to be normal after such a difficult five months. At times, I don’t want to be around others and find refuge in my room. At meals, I drift back to Congo and appear to be disinterested in the conversation.

Hopefully I will return to my old self soon.

Leave a Reply

