Goodbye

I did not tell many people my exact departure date. My goal was to leave with minimal fanfare. 

On the morning of my last day, I announced to the staff that I would be departing the next day. I thanked everyone for their work and we all had a nice discussion.

At 4pm, one of the doctors asked us to join him at a local restaurant for a beer. When we arrived, I was surprised to see six other doctors and the supervising nurse. 

When I returned to the hospital, one of my star medical students handed me a very nice card. He wrote:

“Dr. Chris,

I have learned more from you during my internship in pediatrics; your great interest in patients, your instructive lectures, your experience and knowledge, your technical medical terminology, your sincerity in advising people, and your courage in fighting illness.

These make you a model and good example for me. I have appreciated you.

I have nothing to give you, neither gold nor money, but please accept this sincere and warm thanks from the bottom of my heart!”

I have not felt that warm and fuzzy in a long, long time.

One Response to “Goodbye”

  1. Mary Says:

    That makes me want to cry!! So beautiful… let me guess… Leon???

Leave a Reply

