Rain, rain go away

This morning I arrived for my final case conference. I was excited for some last minute teaching.

When I arrived, I was surprised to find an empty room. Ten minutes later, I was told “You should not expect anyone to come. It is raining.”

At 9am I proceeded to neonatology for rounds. The team, including medical students, did not arrive for one more hour. The ground was still wet!

I asked a senior doctor why this behavior was tolerated. He simply said, “Where you are from, people are motivated to work. Here in Africa, we get very little pay and lack motivation.”

Wow, we have a large uphill battle.

Leave a Reply

