No turning a blind eye here

Dorkas is a 10 year-old girl who presented with fever, severe respiratory symptoms, a large liver and enlarged lymph nodes. I think she may have tuberculosis.

Since she was admitted, her sixty year-old, sight-impaired father stands guard over her bed at all times. When I walk in the room, he stands (often facing the wrong direction), takes off his baseball cap and always has a pleasant greeting.

However, when I arrived today, he stared blankly at the ground and said “Dorkas did not sleep well last night. What does she need today? You tell me and I will get it. If I don’t have the money, I will find it. I am at your service. Just tell me what I need to do.”

When I told him that we needed a few lab tests and the price would be $15, he immediately took $10 from his pocket and handed it to me. He said “that is all the money I have. I will go home now (more than a full day trip) and bring the other $5 dollars tomorrow.”

Lisa handed him a five dollar bill and said, “you stay here with her”.

His complete dedication to his daughter is beautiful and inspiring.

4 Responses to “No turning a blind eye here”

  1. Francisco Acosta Says:

    Wow, what a man!

  2. Alison Says:

    Is there any way to help him?

Leave a Reply

