Not seeing the forest

Today, an HIV positive patient was admitted with severe diarrhea and fever. She was dehydrated and lethargic.

On multiple occasions the mother stated that she did not want to remain in the hospital. Finally, she said “I sell bananas for a living and I just purchased many. I must return home to sell them before they go bad.”

The doctor responded, “your child is more important than a few bananas. You must stay so that he can regain his health.”

The mother’s response was telling of her life. She said “if I do not sell these bananas, I will have no money for food for any of my children. If I want to care for this child, I must sell these.”

She was right and we were not seeing the big picture.

We compromised and she will just stay for a short period.

Leave a Reply

