When resources are limited, sad things happen

Christiana, an adorable 3 year-old female with HIV, has a congenital heart defect. Her defect is easily correctable but surgery is expensive.

Unfortunately, no one is willing to pay for her operation due to her terminal infectious disease. She will likely succumb to AIDS within a decade and she is not considered an ideal candidate because she has no chance of a normal life.

This is a difficult concept for me. How do you put a price on the quantity or quality of life?

I have friends that spent nearly 5,000 dollars on cancer treatment for a cat that was 13 years old. The investment was deemed worthy because the animal lived two extra happy, cuddly years.

I wish someone would feel the same for Christiana. For just a few thousand dollars, she could grow old enough to read, play soccer, dance and laugh with friends.

If no money becomes available, she will die soon.

2 Responses to “When resources are limited, sad things happen”

  1. Francisco Acosta Says:

    Sad to hear. I wish i had some money saved, but like most americans, I living check to check. Sorry Christina!

  2. Alison Says:

    I find your accounts like a novel, I’m drawn back every day to see what is happening in the next chapter. When things are going well, I’m so happy that it’s not fiction, but when things are almost inevitably bad I wish I could reassure myself with the fact that it’s just a story.

Leave a Reply

