The old “my friend” line

When I first came to the DR Congo, I found it very strange that people were paid money at the end of a lecture. Each large talk I give, the audience members expect one or two dollars as they leave.

I have come to accept the practice. Actually, I just try to ignore it and go about my day. However, one person approached me yesterday after a lecture on shock and very seriously said “one of my friends wanted to come, but she couldn’t. I want to collect her money.”

I just started laughing hysterically.

Leave a Reply

