A change of perception

Today was my first day rounding with the team. One excellent resident doctor led and supervised five medical students. I was silent except when asked a question by the resident or when teaching brief points after the discussion.

Near the end of rounds, I preformed an exam on a young boy with AIDS. After a while, I realized he was the same child I saw at the beginning of my trip last year. At that time, I was horrified by his emaciated body.

Today, he looked no healthier, but I did not see him as skin draped over bones, but as a child. I sat, talked and played with him. Despite his outward appearance, he seemed like a normal kid.

One Response to “A change of perception”

  1. Francisco Acosta Says:

    We all our gods children

Leave a Reply

