The hardest hike I’ll ever love

Trekking in the Everest region is not easy. The terrain is often rocky and steep with the occasional covering of snow or ice. Each day we started early and frequently endured hours of strenuous hiking. There were times it seemed as if we were on a StairMaster for 11 hours straight at an altitude of 17,000 feet. I often simply concentrated on placing one foot in front of the other.

Near the middle of the excursion, my left knee became very unhappy. Each step felt like a needle was being inserted through my left knee cap. I began using walking sticks and attempted to use my right leg for stepping up or down. I became the slow one of the group.

Despite the fatigue and pain, this trek was one of the greatest trips of my life. The stunning mountain views will be etched into my memory until the day I die.

With walking sticks

One Response to “The hardest hike I’ll ever love”

  1. Francisco Acosta Says:

    Enjoy what you can buddy!

Leave a Reply

