Shoot, I should have realized…

A few days ago, while enjoying a tasty Indian meal at our hotel restaurant, I ordered a beer. The waiter gave a short giggle and then stated that they had none available. I said “no problem, a juice will do”.

Then last evening, I asked the hotel desk clerk where we could find a place to grab a drink. He leaned over the counter and said “I’ve got some for you. Just return to your room and I will deliver it”. It seemed a little strange, but I went along with it.

Minutes later he arrived with a case of Kingfisher, a local beer. He slipped past the door and put six large bottles in the refrigerator. Lisa and I paid, popped open a bottle and watched an episode of Dexter.

Today, I was describing our story to Aruna, a friend living in Vadodara. She looked puzzled and then said “you know alcohol is illegal here?” Our mouths dropped. We just unknowingly joined in on criminal activity.

2 Responses to “Shoot, I should have realized…”

  1. Francisco Acosta Says:

    Can’t take you anywhere? a fews days there and breaking the law.

  2. Morgan Says:

    Kingfisher! That brings back so many memories of when I was living in India (I did a study abroad program there for about 4 months back in 2005). Everywhere in India is so completely different – don’t worry, Kingfisher won’t be illegal everywhere! Also, the local vodka – White Mischief – is pretty awful, but you have to try it with the local carbonated lemon drink, Limca. We called it Limca Mischief. Mmm!

Leave a Reply

