Can I ever swim?

When I first arrived in East Timor, I was amazed by the beauty of the beaches. White sand meets clear turquoise water as far as the eye can see. The coastline is pristine and human life is a rare site.

I was nearly devastated when I learned that swimming is strongly discouraged on the island. There are apparently numerous ocean crocodiles along the coast and attacks on humans seem to be a common occurrence (that is what I hear).

Yesterday, I visited the beach for the first time. It was extremely hot and the cool water was calling my name. I built-up some nerve, put on my bathing suit and took the plunge. Immediately, the Jaws theme song reverberated in my head and my heart rate increased. Within seconds, I chickened-out and quickly worked my way to dry land. 

Sign at our "swimming hole"

One Response to “Can I ever swim?”

  1. Francisco Acosta Says:

    I know some alligator was yum…yum…white meat!

Leave a Reply

