My last day in Africa (for now)

The hours before my departure were great. As I was preparing to give my last lecture, flowers and special croissants were delivered. We all snacked well.

Then there was also a church service. More than 200 people prayed for my safe journey and said thanks. It was an emotional moment.

I was sad to say good-bye to all of the staff. It was even more difficult to leave the patients. I will miss many of them.

I arrived back in the United States two hours ago. We will have a short break here and then begin a new adventure in the perpetually troubled country of East Timor.

While in the states, I will continue to post stories from Goma that I have not published.

Thank you for reading!

One Response to “My last day in Africa (for now)”

  1. Francisco Acosta Says:

    Thanks for the stories and enjoy the states.

Leave a Reply

