The calm after the storm

We lost a patient last night. I tried my hardest to keep him alive, but I was unsuccessful.

As I walked from the neonatology unit at 5:30AM, Katembo was emerging from sleep on the hospital grounds. As soon as we made eye contact, he walked toward me in his usual wide based gait.

He stretched out his arms to be picked-up and made his way to my lap. We sat silently together, watching the sunrise as people around us prepared for the day. He played with my watch and the hair on my arms and I patted his back. We sat for two hours and 40 minutes.

We both need comforting.

Me and Katembo

2 Responses to “The calm after the storm”

  1. Taneisha Grant Says:

    Your blog is wonderful. I just read all your entries and feel quite motivated to continue to make small changes in my own way. The work that you are doing is truly inspirational. It takes a compassionate and humble physician to dedicate such time and effort to providing healthcare to the impoverished. I’m sure that your patients and their families are appreciative. Keep heart and stay safe.

  2. Andrea Kilbane Says:

    I just finished ready about a months worth of blog, and I must say cousin, you are an amazing person. Your heart is so big and I am proud of you. You and lisa are in my prayers. Keep up the good work… Oh, and btw, the next time you fly to Canada, (near the great lakes) or near Michigan, let me know… we will come and see you..

    God Bless You!

    Love ya…
    Andrea

Leave a Reply

