Time away

Today, I rounded with the neonatology team and the patients were stable. Afterwards, we headed for a short “vacation”. We will return Monday morning for work.

Lisa and I are now in Gisenyi, a small town across the border in Rwanda. We are currently in a western style hotel on Lake Kivu. It feels a world away despite its location just two miles from Heal Africa Hospital.

As we crossed the border, a man in jeans and a t-shirt emerged from a small shack and began to walk quickly behind me. He was calling “wait for me, wait for me”. I responded “No thank you, I am OK” and continued at a faster pace in an effort to avoid another person requesting money or selling items. He then shouted, in excellent English, “No, come back, I am the immigration officer”. As I returned, we had a nice laugh together.

Leave a Reply

