A Reflection

Sundays are the holy days in the Congo. There is a church across from where I sleep. Today, I woke up to children singing in the choir.

I did not attend church but it has been a day of reflection for me. I have received many kind and encouraging messages from friends, family and colleagues back home. They have said my work in the Congo is “inspiring” and “amazing”.

As I have pondered my career path more, I have come to realize that my work is truly no more “important” or “wonderful” than most back home. I have friends who have dedicated their lives to teaching impoverished youth in the inner city. I have family members who have given up their youth and young adult life to raise beautiful, kind and respectful children. I have colleagues who have sacrificed promising academic careers, home lives and relationships to work at a community hospital and care for patients they love.

We are all doing “amazing” things and we should recognize this in each other.

3 Responses to “A Reflection”

  1. Riannon Says:

    I just wanted to say thank you for sharing these thoughts. They reach across miles on a day when I needed to read them. Please know that my family and I are following your blogs and look forward to reading them daily.

  2. Andrea Kilbane Says:

    I am so proud of you. You have an amazing heart. Keep up the great work. I will be enjoying reading this in the future.

  3. Francisco Acosta Says:

    I can not get enough of this. You are amazing.

Leave a Reply

