The Beginning

The time has finally come. After five years of undergraduate work, five years of a combined MD/MPH program and a four year residency, I am ready to pursue my dream. I am finally prepared to be a physician for the poverty stricken in the developing world.

As a child in the mid 1980s, I was entranced by images of emaciated Ethiopian children lying listless, unfazed by hovering flies. I was unable to comprehend the stark contrast between our rights of birth. How could anyone in this world be without food, water or basic shelter while I lived a life of relative luxury?

Throughout my adolescence and young adult life, I was motivated by a feeling of obligation to help the less fortunate. Despite some very difficult days during the past 14 years, I always had my sights on today, the first day of my “real” career.

I am currently on a plane to The Democratic Republic of the Congo. When I arrive, I will begin work for the International Pediatric Outreach Project (IPOP) in conjunction with Heal Africa. My mornings will involve patient care and teaching in a hospital in the city of Goma and the afternoons will be available for care of displaced people in the surrounding areas.

I will update this blog as frequently as possible documenting my experiences as a health practitioner in the developing world. I hope you find it interesting.

9 Responses to “The Beginning”

  1. Emin Maltepe Says:

    Good luck Chris! Your dedication to your vision is inspiring. I hope you find what you are looking for.

  2. Andrea Kilbane Says:

    You are an amazing person. I wish you all the success you are looking for on your new “career”. You will be in my prayers. Good luck on your journey cousin. You are an inspiration.

  3. James Lopes Says:

    I am so impressed Chris. I knew your hear was always in the right place! You truly are the epitome of what we all should be– I wish I could emulate your compassion and selflessness. Keep us posted buddy

  4. Francisco Acosta Says:

    Congrats buddy on starting your dream. I am so proud, take care of those kids out there as some of us can only dream about making a difference in a world we are all so easy swallowed by our own life. Take care!

  5. rob goldsby Says:

    You are doing something truly amazing. thanks for sharing your journey.
    Best of luck,
    Rob

  6. anda kuo Says:

    Glad you arrived safely so far, Chris. Look forward to living vicariously and hearing of your adventures. Be safe and enjoy, Anda

  7. your cuz Says:

    I love you and wish you well and great times… you are the right Man for the job. I want you to know that I am proud and respect the choice that you have made in your life… you have come along way and deserve what has been dealt to you. When times get tough… just do me a favor and think of our childhood and the times that we have spent together. This always brings a smile to my face… mud puddles, mini villages and slurpees. Take care!

  8. clem Says:

    Chris, I’m reading you blog, keep reminding me of you blogging. Amazing already and impressive your ability to jump in and remain opptomistic. You are amazing. I’m really proud of you being there and helping.

    Keep kicking butt.
    Clem

  9. Katie McPeak Says:

    I am so proud of the work you’re doing. Did the neonate survive from your first day on rounds? I don’t see how these folks manage to have optimism in the face of death surrounding them. Keep it real, Chris!

Leave a Reply

